Baking Gingerbread Bears

I love Christmas food and Christmas deserts, so baking around Christmas time is one of my favourite things to do. Gingerbread is typically a winter food so I thought I would give baking it a try. Gingerbread men are also a great Christmas party food!

I got my recipie from the BBC good food website. This website is great for recipes! 

The ingredients you will need are:

350g/12oz plain flour, plus extra for rolling out
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground cinnamon
125g/4½oz butter
175g/6oz light soft brown sugar
1 free-range egg
4 tbsp golden syrup

Method:

Preheat your oven to 180•c/350F/Gas 4

I started off by sifting the flour into a mixing bowl, then adding the cinnamon and ginger to the flour. Now add in the butter and mix until the mixture becomes breadcrumb-like. Next I stirred in the sugar to the mixture.

I then cracked my egg into a separate bowl and added the golden syrup. Then add the egg & syrup to the flour. I then folded the egg in to the flour mixture.

Mix the mixture together with an electric whisk or food processor (I used an electric whisk) until the mixture becomes dough like. Once the mixture is right, clump it together and place in clingfilm and leave to chill for 15 minutes.

  

Whilst I left the dough in the fridge, I lined 2 baking trays with grease proof paper. I partially buttered the tray so the paper would stick.
  

 

After this, I rolled it out on a lightly flour dusted worktop, until the the dough is around 0.5cm in thickness. Then place your cutter into the dough and cut out your gingerbread men/bear shapes. I decided to go down the non-traditional route of a gingerbread bear instead of a man as I thought they would be so cute! 

  

After placing the cut outs on my trays, I put the biscuits into the oven for around 15 minutes. To check if they were done I used a skewer to poke through the middle of a gingerbread bear to see if any dough residue was left on my skewer (if any residue is on your skewer the biscuits aren’t done). They should also have a golden brown tinge to them.

When I had left my bears to cool down, I decorated them with icing (icing sugar) and dolly mixtures. I also used half milk chocolate buttons to make mouths for my bears. 

  
  
The bears tasted amazing and made my kitchen smell of Christmas! I would definatley reccomend making some gingerbread men, they are super easy and quick to do. They really get you into the Christmas spirit!

Thank you for reading, happy baking!

Copyright © 2015 Life in Izzy’s eyes All rights reserved.
http://www.lifeinizzyseyes.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

