Halloween Toffee Apples

As today is Halloween, I thought I would hit the kitchen and make a tasty treat. I love autumn sweet treats, they make everything more festive! 

One of my favourite autumn treats is toffee apples! I only ever get my hands on them at bonfire night displays; so I thought I would give creating them myself a go. 

To make 3 toffee apples you will need:

150g Granulated Sugar

1/3rd tsp Vinegar

1 1/2 tbsp Golden Syrup

100 ml of water

1 tsp Red Food Dye

3 lollipop/ barbecue sticks

Greaseproof/ Baking Paper
Method:

Put your apples in a bowl of boiling water in order to remove the waxy layer. Leave them for a minute or so and then remove and dry throughly. 


Put the sticks into the apples and put them on a sheet of baking paper. I put my paper on a baking tray.


Put the sugar into a pan and add the water. Boil this on a medium heat until the sugar has dissolved. Now add the vinegar, golden syrup and food dye and boil.



Continue to boil until the toffee has reached 150 degrees, or when a small amount is placed into cold water it is hard and can be broken. When the toffee is ready dip the apples into the toffee until they are evenly covered and place back on the baking paper.



Voila! Your very on Halloween treats.

Thanks for reading 🙂
Copyright © 2016 Life in Izzy’s eyes All rights reserved.

http://www.lifeinizzyseyes.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

